Discover South Korean Requirements

South Koreans traveling to Europe will soon need a travel authorization to enter and freely roam the Schengen area. As of now, South Korean citizens do not need a European visa or what is also known as the Schengen visa to visit and move freely around Europe.

In mid-2025, the ETIAS program will be implemented to improve immigration and border controls. The European visa waiver for South Korean citizens will require them to apply online for the ETIAS travel authorization before departure to ensure they are registered and can easily and quickly pass border control. Without the EU visa waiver for Korean citizens, travelers will be denied access at the port of entry to Europe. When a traveler submits their ETIAS application, all data provided will be screened and contrasted against security databases.

The ETIAS requirements for South Korean citizens include:

  • Being the holder of a valid passport from South Korea with validity extending 3 months beyond the visit to Europe
  • A credit or debit card to pay the ETIAS fee online
  • An active email address where the approved ETIAS visa waiver for South Koreans will be sent.

ETIAS will be electronically linked to the traveler’s passport.

South Korean Mutual Visa Waiver Agreements

South Korean citizens can remain in some European nations beyond the 90-day Schengen limit due to bilateral agreements related to traveling and entering its territories.

South Korean passport holders may stay in the following counties for the number of days indicated:

  • Belgium (3 months)
  • Bulgaria (90 days)
  • Czech Republic (90 days)
  • Denmark (90 days)
  • Germany (3 months)
  • Greece (90 days)*
  • Spain (90 days)*
  • France (90 days)*
  • Italy (60 days)
  • Latvia (90 days)
  • Luxembourg (90 days)
  • Hungary (90 days)
  • Netherlands (90 days)
  • Austria (90 days* / 180 days**)
  • Portugal (60 days)*
  • Slovakia (90 days)*
  • Sweden (90 days)*

Specific Schengen-associated countries also have agreements with South Korea (these are subject to change):

  • Iceland (90 days)
  • Liechtenstein (90 days)
  • Norway (90 days)
  • Switzerland (90 days)

( * ) Ordinary passports only ( ** ) Diplomatic and service/official passports

South Koreans must remain in the specific EU nation during their travel period, and it is impossible to move freely around Europe under a bilateral agreement. If nationals of South Korea want to visit several Schengen countries during one trip, they are advised to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver instead.

ETIAS Application For South Koreans

Applicants from South Korea will need to complete the ETIAS visa waiver application form before traveling to Europe. The ETIAS application process should not take longer than 10 minutes. Within each form, applicants will need to provide:

  • Full name
  • Address
  • Date of birth
  • Country of citizenship
  • Gender

Each applicant will be asked to indicate the country they intend to visit in the Schengen area. They may also be asked about their health, past trips to conflict zones, and or their criminal record. Once payment and the application have been processed and approved, the applicant will be able to travel to the Schengen Area.

Information on the ETIAS Application