ETIAS for European Entry, Coming in 2025

An ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) is an electronic screening system for passport holders granted visa-free access to the European Union (EU) and Schengen Area. Once implemented in 2025, each and every traveler entering Europe without a visa will need one.

The purpose of ETIAS is to enhance border security to the EU. It is designed for short-term (90 days or less) visits to the EU and will be required for entry to the EU after the projected ETIAS launch in 2025. Your ETIAS must be secured before traveling to the European Union. An ETIAS authorization is valid for three years, or until your current passport expires, whichever occurs first. The ETIAS is not a visa or a stamp but an electronic code linked to your passport.

Commonly Asked Questions about ETIAS

  • When does the ETIAS go into effect?

    ETIAS goes into effect in mid-2025. Travelers from countries that currently enjoy visa-free travel to the European Union will need an ETIAS authorization for travel beginning after the program begins.

  • Will I need to get an ETIAS?

    If you are a passport holder from one of the 60 countries currently eligible for visa-free entry into the EU, and you plan to stay for 90 days or less, you will need to apply for the ETIAS authorization. An ETIAS application is required for any short-term (less than 90 days) travel to the EU, including travel for business, pleasure, medical purposes, or if you are transiting through the EU en route to a further destination.

  • Are these any exemptions based on age?

    There are no age restrictions for ETIAS, so even children and infants will need to apply for an ETIAS authorization.

  • Which passport holders are required to get an ETIAS?

    ETIAS authorization will be required for passport holders from the following countries: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Macedonia, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu (currently suspended from ETIAS until further notice) and Venezuela. This list is subject to change, so it is recommended you check periodically if you plan to travel to the EU after November 2024 to see if you are required to apply for an ETIAS authorization.

  • Are there any other restrictions where an ETIAS would not cover my travel?

    Travel to the European union for purposes other than business, tourism, or transit to a further destination are not covered by ETIAS, nor is travel for a period of longer than 90 days. If your European travel plans do not fit one of these categories, either check with the country or countries you plan to visit, or contact us at CIBTvisas for assistance.

How do I get an ETIAS?

Travelers heading to the Europe Union after the start in mid-2025 should submit their ETIAS application before departure. The ETIAS application requires some basic information such as personal biometric data (name, date of birth, etc.), valid passport data, destination within the EU, general background information from the applicant, and history of immigration to the EU (if applicable). The fee for the ETIAS application is €7. Anyone traveling to the EU, regardless of age, must submit an ETIAS application, if travel is for business, leisure, or transit purposes, and if it is less than 90 days in duration. The application fee is waived for travelers under age 18, or over age 70.

In many cases, an ETIAS approval decision takes only minutes. In most other cases, travelers can expect to be notified of their ETIAS status within 96 hours of application. If additional information is required, the approval process may take up to four weeks.

Travelers without an ETIAS may not be allowed to board flights to Europe, or will likely be denied entry upon arriving in the EU.