UK ETA now open to all Gulf and Jordanian nationals

By: Paul Buckley

February 19, 2024

On February 01, 2024, the UK’s electronic travel authorisation (ETA) scheme opened for all Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) and Jordanian nationals who are travelling to the UK from 22 February 2024. The GCC is made up of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. 

The scheme opened previously for Qatari nationals, who already require an ETA to travel to the UK. The addition of other GCC and Jordanian nationals is another step forward in the phased rollout of the UK ETA scheme. Once fully implemented, the scheme will apply to all visitors to the UK who do not need a visa for stays of less than six months, or who do not have a valid UK immigration status prior to travelling. 

The UK ETA scheme is being introduced as part of the digitisation of the UK border and is in line with the approach many other countries have taken to border security. An ETA can be considered a digital permission to travel and will help prevent the arrival of individuals who the UK government believe may present a threat to the UK.   

Travel well-informed with CIBTvisas 

An experienced visa specialist can help you navigate the complexities of border crossing requirements. Contact CIBTvisas for a quote today. 

Back to Blog

CIBTvisas Monthly Update

Get the CIBTvisas Monthly Update for the most recent information on travel requirements and consular closings.

Sign Up Now